Should Test/Tune jog Y and Y2 motors at the same time?

More
13 Jul 2023 02:47 #275311 by supermoto
Hello folks! 
I have an XYY2Z machine with a 7i96s.  I'm just getting into first tests and setup. My question is whether or not both Y axis motors should move when you jog them from the "test/tune" screen in pncc?  X and Z axis move fine in + and -, but only the motor assigned to Y Main StepDir (in the TB1 assignments tab) will move when jogged. Swapping cables at the mesa shows Y2 motor is good, and if I also swap the TB1 assignments again, the jogging capability follows whichever motor is assigned as main axis. I'm not getting any output for the motor assigned as Y2 Tandem. Is this normal behavior? 

Thanks! 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jul 2023 05:30 #275314 by JPL
You have to home your machine first, then joints Y and Y2 should move together. Before homing it is normal that only one joint will move when jogging.

More
13 Jul 2023 11:25 #275327 by tommylight
Create config, save config, start config.
Enable machine, keep your finger above the ESC or F1 button and press home all.
There are a lot if things going on during homing procedure, so having evetything set at very low speed is a good idea. This refers to home search velocity, home latch velocity and home final velocity.
Also, depending on your setup, might need to add a bit of offset to all joints so it backs off of the siwtches, but this is only if you are using the same switch for home and limits.

More
13 Jul 2023 12:01 #275333 by supermoto
Let me clarify....

I am not at the point where I need to jog from within LCNC.

I am referring to the axis motion test interface from within pncconf.