good small cheap compatible computer?

More
20 Sep 2014 19:36 #51377 by PixelPaul
hi all,
i am new to CNC machine and looking to build my own.
been looking at a few options, one was to go with planetCNC and their usb boards.
but that is looking to expensive. so i though i might try my luck with linuxCNC, the only problem i have is finding a computer to run it.
Does anyone know if there are any tiny computers that is known to support it or any computers that are available on ebay or some store i could order and they arn't to costy. I am a bit worried about trying to source a computer only to find it wont work.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Sep 2014 22:58 #51380 by ArcEye
Hi

If you are software stepping you need decent latency.

This is a list compiled by members of computers and motherboards that work and the latency figures they give.
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Latency-Test

Beware of going for tiny PCs. They tend to have very little expansion potential, sometimes no PCI slots just 1 PCIe and one PCIe mini, no parallel port and some USB ports.

regards

More
20 Sep 2014 23:50 #51382 by xylotex
Hi,

There is a version of LinuxCNC (MachineKit) that runs on the beaglebone black (BBB) processor board. That board costs $55.00 and is about the size of an altoids tin (so pretty tiny). You might want to to get an expansion board (known as a 'cape') to gain access to the control signals. You can find a list of capes here:

blog.machinekit.io/p/hardware-capes.html

Step generation is controlled by the extra processor units (PRU) built in to the ARM processor on the BBB.

MachineKit running on BBB is "bleeding edge" software, so if you are looking for some very stable I wouldn't recommend it. But if you are looking to put together your own small system, it is an interesting place to start.