Small lathe conversion

More
09 Apr 2017 15:32 #91087 by Biersmythe
Hello all this is my first post, I hope i put this in the right place. I am converting a G0602 lathe to cnc and I have a few questions. I have read a lot of posts on this forum, cnczone and everywhere I can find to get an idea of what i need. I still have many questions. I know I will be using linuxcnc for the the control. I have been using linux as my only computer software for years so its a no brainer. I wanted a touch screen as well and have bought an Asus VT207 after seeing most people on this forum recomended it. What I want out of my project is a full functioning albeit small cnc lathe. I was a machinist for about 12 years so I have run many machines and i understand this small machin will have its limitations. Now this is where I need some advice. I am thinking I want a motion control card but not sure which one,
because I would like to use a small form factor pc like the ZOTAC ZBOX C Series that has been recomended by a few. I see there is a lot of back and forth about steppers and servos and about what to use for the spindle motor. I would like CSS, quality surface finish, good quality threading is a must and would like to have enough IO left over for coolent pump and a few accessories. I wont say money is no object, but im not afraid of buying quality if it keeps me from having to do it over again. Thank you all for the information you have already posted in this forum it has been very educational so far. Looking forward to the replys.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Apr 2017 20:36 - 09 Apr 2017 20:37 #91098 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic Small lathe conversion
If you want to use a small form factor PC, then your decision partly made for you as you will need to use a Mesa ethernet based cards. If you are using steppers, then the 7i76e would be the easy choice and give you way more features than you need for a lathe.