Robot using already existing servo amplifiers

More
11 Mar 2014 18:47 - 11 Mar 2014 18:50 #44662 by dimech
I am a student of Mechanical Engineering Department in National Technical University of Athens.
My final year project requires me to reprogram the MITSUBISHI RM-501 robot through linucCNC environment. The project requires use the already existing servo amplifiers of the drive unit (zero budget project)

I am wondering if it is that possible. :dry:

In my search I was not able to find any datasheet for this drive unit except for a user's manual of the model. Unfortunately, this manual does not contain the information I need regarding the hardware.

Servo type: Sanyo Denki Super Mini 24V DC
Thank you in advance.
Last edit: 11 Mar 2014 18:50 by dimech.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Mar 2014 19:06 #44663 by ArcEye
Hi

In my search I was not able to find any datasheet for this drive unit except for a user's manual of the model. Unfortunately, this manual does not contain the information I need regarding the hardware.

What about this one?

At 353 pages long you would think something would be relevant

www.datasheetarchive.com/dl/Datasheets-SW18/DSASW00346856.pdf

regards
The following user(s) said Thank You: dimech

More
11 Mar 2014 19:49 #44667 by dimech
Thank you for the immediate answering!

The robot is really old ('86 I think),so doesn't match a lot with the new technology. My main concern is, if the boards of the servos, which are located in drive unit, are capable do whatever mesa board does. Also I have not so much experience on electronics, so I would be grateful if you could suggest me a way, how to figure what signal is for without having datasheets. I am new in this field!
Excuse my English…

More
11 Mar 2014 23:05 #44676 by PCW
I think the trick will be figuring out the servo motor drive interface wiring (the encoder wiring should be pretty simple).