Use 0-10V + dir on 7i77 instead of +-10V out

More
27 Dec 2015 23:25 #67384 by perra_e
I have 3 Lichuan AC Servo that I was told that they should work with +-10V. They kind of do but not in a correct way.
The +-10V sets the speed so the speed for +5V = speed for -5V, but in the same direction!
The direction is set by a separate pin.
On top of that the servo vibrates a lot when feed with negative voltage, but it runs smoot on positive voltage.

One solution is to build an interface with some opamps that derives the direction and rectifies the output voltage so it's Always positive.

One other solution that I suppose is possible is to do this in a hal-file or something.
There are a couple of statements in the machine hal-file that indicates it is possible.
net x-output => pid.x.output
net x-output => hm2_7180.0.7i77.0.1.analogout0

I'm completely new to Linuxcnc so any help where to start looking would be appreciated.

The actual Servo but an other seller.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Dec 2015 15:59 #67400 by PCW
Its entirely possible to do this is HAL (using the absolute component),
but its not likely to work very well as the direction signal will not be synchronized
perfectly with the analog output (VFDs often use 0 to 10V + direction but its not a good way to drive servos)

Are you sure there is not some setup option to get true +-10V operation from the drive?

More
28 Dec 2015 16:44 #67401 by perra_e
For the moment I'm afraid that it doesn't work with +-10V. I certanly hope I have missed somthing!

Ok, then it sounds like the best solution is to build an extra interface that generats a direction signal and converts the speed signal to 0-10V if it is not possible to make the servo work as a "standard servo"!

I will contact the seller of the servo and hear what they say about this.

More
28 Dec 2015 21:03 #67411 by Iron-Man