Newbie - what Mesa card to choose?

More
16 Mar 2021 17:32 #202489 by MattK
Hi all,

I decided to build myself a CNC router a while back and started to go down the path of designing and building a machine without a lot of thought to how to control it. Since then I have also realized I am not a very good machinist and have struggled with making highly accurate drill holes.

Here's my thought process to get me doing some CNC projects much faster yet not giving up on my CNC build
1. There is a person who lives in my town selling a no-name 6040 and controller box setup with a parallel port connection. I do not want to go down the Mach3 route for that router or my new one so I am most interested in Linux CNC. I'm an IT guy and while I am no expert at linux I can navigate well enough and am not afraid to learn more.
2.. I have several older PCs which all have parallel ports and can load linux on those boxes.
3. get the 6040 up and running using linux CNC - do what-ever board changes it requires to reconfigure the 6040 control box so as I can use the 6040.
4. Have some fun doing some basic CNC projects - Learn!!!!
5. When I get good enough to mill some aluminum gantry, end cap and z axis panels and make them up on the 6040
6. Setup the new router with new stepper motors and the same output cabling so I could re-using the 6040 control box.
7. Switch the control box back and forth until I am comfortable with new router.

Questions:
1. Is my thought process logical? aka reconfigure the 6040 box to use linux cnc?
2. Could I just load linux cnc on a PC and connect via parallel? or does that require a mesa card which would output to parallel?
3. If 2 requires a card, would I just be better off reconfiguring the control box to use a 7i76 card and bypassing parallel all together?

thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Mar 2021 18:30 #202497 by tommylight
TLDR