Help needed: Retrofitting a CNC plasma table with new drivers and controller

More
29 Nov 2016 17:56 #83439 by frecel
I need some help from people who have more experience with CNC than I do.

At work we obtained a 4'x8' CNC Plasma table but it's missing the drivers and the controller. The stepper motors, the wire harness and all of the parts of the actual table are all there.

There are four 6A 3V stepper motors in it, two of them move the gantry, one of them moves the torch on the gantry, and one moves the torch up and down. It also has a couple of kill switches, one clicks when the torch hits something, another one clicks when the torch tops out on the z-axis.

The price on the original controls for this table is pretty steep and as far as I know we would still be missing the features to adjust the amperage with the controller.

Now I'm a software guy so I'm not super familiar with the hardware side of things and I have very little experience with CNC machines so any advice on how to avoid common mistakes would be greatly appreciated but I do have a few questions to start with.

Since the table has four stepper motors but two of them work on the same axis do I need three or four drivers?
It's a big table and I can see it cutting 1/2" steel on semi regular basis should I be buying drivers that are rated for more than 6A?
How do I make sure I'm buying the right drivers for the stepper motors, the right controller for the drivers and the right PSU for all of it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Nov 2016 18:34 - 29 Nov 2016 18:34 #83441 by andypugh

Since the table has four stepper motors but two of them work on the same axis do I need three or four drivers?

You need 4 drivers.

It's a big table and I can see it cutting 1/2" steel on semi regular basis should I be buying drivers that are rated for more than 6A?