Wanting to build a CNC

More
01 Nov 2010 21:04 #5012 by tlhiv
Wanting to build a CNC was created by tlhiv
First, I would like to apologize because I am very new to CNC's. I know what CNC's do, and I have a basic understanding about how they operate, but I am trying to obtain some knowledge from the experts on this forum for building my first CNC.

My brother-in-law is a professional welder (and a very good fabricator), and I have a degree in Electrical Engineering. I am also VERY familiar with Linux (as I have been using Linux exclusively for over 10 years now). He and I would like to build a plasma cutter CNC. He has told me that building the table should be absolutely no problem, and it is my understanding that all of our cutting will be done via EMC controlling several stepper motors. We would like for our CNC be 5 feet wide by 10 feet long (large enough to accommodate a 5'x10' sheet of plate). We realize that 4'x8' are pretty standard, but he assures me that 5'x10' is out there as well.

Our plan is to build the entire table out of carbon steel and the "CNC stuff " (i.e., rails, tracks, gears, etc.) out of aluminum. We are anticipating that a stepper motor will need to reside on each side of the table in order to run one axis the entire length of the table. These motors should always be turning at the same speeds and should start and stop at the same time. There should also be a stepper motor that moves the head across the table as well. We do not (at this time) see the need for a vertical direction since the cutter will either be on or off (unless I am misunderstanding). However, when we purchase our parts for building the CNC, we would like to go ahead and have vertical support in our driver board (even if we don't use it initially).