Mach3 Linuxcnc equivalence

More
28 Sep 2015 17:38 #63127 by Micromet
Before I re-invent the wheel and write one myself, is there a document that provides equivalences between the GUI menu entries and menu options of Mach3 and linuxcnc. As a complete newbie who has just bought a small desktop cnc machine that came with a nobbled version of Mach3 for initial testing of the cnc machine (successfully), I now want to move to linuxcnc without a) breaking the cnc machine with ill-considered inputs to linuxcnc; b) knowing how to translate between the different language dialects of Mach3 and linuxcnc.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2015 17:53 #63129 by Rick G
The following user(s) said Thank You: Micromet

More
28 Sep 2015 18:39 #63133 by Micromet
Replied by Micromet on topic Mach3 Linuxcnc equivalence
Thanks Rick for that link - and I will use it to convert my current Mach3 setup to linuxcnc and thereby provide me with some indication of the equivalence between Mach3 and linuxcnc and the probability fo creating a linuxcnc setup that will not wreck the machine.
The python program is very useful if you have a long history of Mach3 use and wish to convert all your previous work to linuxcnc - but I am right at the start of my journey with no experience of either Mach3 or linuxcnc - just the knowledge that my cnc machine does what it should with the Mach3 setup as provided with the install documentation that came with the cnc machine. But that is as far as it goes - enabling me to test the machine. There are various forum entries that are providing Mach3 GUI front-ends to linuxcnc and I need to look at them possibly for the equivalnce thing. But again, this route makes sense to experienced Mach3 users, whereas having little knowledge of either Mach3 or linuxcnc at this time, going directly to linuxcnc is the correct course for me.

More
29 Sep 2015 16:58 #63196 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Mach3 Linuxcnc equivalence