Initial Config help needed please

More
15 Feb 2013 01:05 - 15 Feb 2013 01:26 #30063 by egropp
Hello, I am new to linuxcnc, but have fooled with kcam a bit..

I have a new install of LinuxCNC (ubuntu-10.04-linuxcnc3-i386) on an HP DX2300
I am using ProboStep drivers (from Probotix.com).
For some reason I cannot make the Z axis move (using the 'test Axis" button during the install) The X and Y axis move fine.
I have a differnt machine that is running KCam and all 3 Axis work from that machine (as a sanity check to make sure that the hardware is good).
I have verified the port configuration for pin assignments and everything appears to be correct.
I could sure use a bit of help here to get this setup working.

Thank you in advance of any advice / assistance.
Last edit: 15 Feb 2013 01:26 by egropp. Reason: fixed computer model number

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Feb 2013 04:59 #30070 by alan_3301
When I look up probostep it looks like just a driver. What are you using for a breakout board?
I know you said you verified pins, but That would be the first thing I check.
Any docs for the breakoutboard that say what pins are what for the parallel port connector?

Im sure others will ask you to post your ini and hal files, you should go ahead and do that.

More
15 Feb 2013 20:32 #30106 by Rick G

I have a differnt machine that is running KCam and all 3 Axis work from that machine (as a sanity check to make sure that the hardware is good).

I take this to mean you have another computer and your motors/hardware works fine when plugged in there but not when plugged into the Linuxcnc computer? Same cables, breakout board, etc.?

Yes as Alan said more info such as breakout board would be good.

Might be a good idea to double check your pin assignments, I take it your have not created a config yet but are testing in Stepconfig.

Rick G

More
16 Feb 2013 03:46 #30147 by egropp