Limit switch behavior

More
02 Jan 2016 14:04 - 02 Jan 2016 14:20 #67704 by rvj
Limit switch behavior was created by rvj
Hello Forum!

This is my first request in that forum. Although I studied other requests and the documentation I did not find an answer to my question.

I have a tiny three axis mill running with stepper motors. The Axis GUI driven control unit consists of a mesa 5i25 card with a 7i76 extension. The machine has limit switches at X-minus, X-plus, Y-minus, Y-plus and Z-plus. The X-minus, Y-minus and Z-plus limit switches serve also as home switches.

When I hit on of those switches say X-minus, I would expect that the machine does not allow jogging into the X-minus direction but X-plus jogging is possible. The X-minus should be forbidden until the limit switch is released.

Unfortunately this does not happen. If I hit the switch the machine is switched off and can only be moved if "override limits" is checked. If I check this I need to be extremely careful to jog into the right direction.

Is there any possibility to get the desired behavior?

Thanks for help

Reinhard
Last edit: 02 Jan 2016 14:20 by rvj.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jan 2016 14:20 #67705 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Limit switch behaviour

Is there any possibility to get the desired behavior?

No, but if you home the machine and the axis limits are set up correctly it should then be impossible to jog into any limit switch.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rvj

More
02 Jan 2016 14:33 #67706 by rvj
Replied by rvj on topic Limit switch behavior
Thanks a lot for answering so quickly.

I guess that there is also no chance to create an user exit program to achieve that. Is this right?

I will try what you proposed since it sounds reasonable. However the described behavior is available in CNCUSB and I found it really useful for a beginner, because it is nearly impossible to make errors.