Unable to install from .iso or compile from source on Fedora 27

More
13 Mar 2018 04:32 - 13 Mar 2018 04:52 #107270 by owlbrudder
Total newbie here. I realise LinuxCNC is oriented toward Debian, but my platform is Fedora 27.

I have twice downloaded the disk image, but it appears not to be bootable. The device /dev/sr0 is bootable as I have just installed WinXP into a virtual machine for another purpose. (I know XP is a dog, but it is the Windows dog that I own and I don't feel like shelling out for a dubious upgrade.)

I have tried compiling from source and hit the expected number of snags, which I have overcome, but now I am stuck with the following compiler message:
Syntax checking python script halcompile
Copying python script halcompile
Preprocessing thermistor.comp
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "../bin/halcompile", line 1419, in <module>
    main()
  File "../bin/halcompile", line 1414, in main
    os.unlink(outfile)
[color=red]OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'objects/hal/user_comps/thermistor.c'[/color]
make: *** [hal/user_comps/Submakefile:82: objects/hal/user_comps/thermistor.c] Error 1
[root@womble src]#
I searched the source tree and also Googled for 'thermistor.c' without success. The nearest I have in the source tree is 'thermistor.comp'.

How do I proceed?
Last edit: 13 Mar 2018 04:52 by owlbrudder. Reason: typo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Mar 2018 08:30 #107271 by rodw
In some of the distros there are bugs with creating bootable USB drives according to my research on this. Not sure if that is what you are doing. My workaround was to download the .ISO on Windows, rename it to a .IMG file and use Win32 Diskimager to create the bootable USB drive. Worked every time!

More
13 Mar 2018 08:45 #107272 by owlbrudder
Thanks for replying rodw.