Is latency an issue when using a Mesa card?

More
28 Jun 2012 22:22 #21442 by spangledboy
Hi

This is my first post here - I'm just starting out with LinuxCNC.

I'm currently getting my computer hardware together for an upgrade to my old Supermax mill which has Anilamn Crusader II controls. I'm lucky in that I can choose from a huge number of old PCs at work (mostly Dell & HP) and I've run the latency test on a few. With no special configuration their latency figures are ok, but not amazing, even with relatively new, higher spec machines, so I was a little disappointed.

However, it just dawned on me that the latency may not be a big problem for me as I'll be using a Mesa 5i25 card along with 7i76 or 7i77. Am I right in saying that the latency is only really an issue when using the standard parallel port and software generated stepping, while the Mesa does this in hardware semi-independently of the motherboard?

I've read plenty in the FAQs about latency, it's causes and cures, but there's not much mention of what it exactly affects and whether it's really going to affect me with my add-in card and interfaces.

Apologies if this has been discussed elsewhere already, but I'm sure someone will be able to clear up this question pretty quickly for me.

Thanks

Ben

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jun 2012 23:44 #21448 by BigJohnT
Software step generation needs low latency, hardware step generation does not. If your getting <50,000 jitter you should be ok with a 5i25 combo. The 5i25 configuration only uses the "servo thread" which is pretty slow and software step generation needs a "base thread" that is much faster.

What kind of numbers are you getting for jitter?

John

More
28 Jun 2012 23:54 #21450 by PCW
A hardware stepgenerator is a lot less sensitive to latency
than software step generation where a high latency may stall a
step motor and also limits the maximum step rate