Tandem y axis for plasma table

More
12 Sep 2020 04:32 #181819 by Electechcans
Hey Guys,
I am new to linux, linuxCNC and PlasmaC. I have installed Debian 9 and have a 4 axis plasma machine built, but cannot figure out the configuration for the 7i96 it is installed but i have no idea what to put in for the configuration, i have been reading for hours how to set this up but there is little to no info on how to get this card running correctly. I am using 2 motors for the gantry they are longs 425oz and i have longs dm 542a drivers and then just a single motor for the y and z axis. I also have a Mesa THC A-D card i would like to figure out how to setup. I have tried to plug in some default values (and guesses) to see if i could jog, but when i try to open my application i created it wont open, it gives me hal errors. I know nothing about linux and this is frustrating, kinda wishing i would of went with Mach3 and not the Mesa setup. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2020 07:42 #181838 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic 4 axis plasma with Mesa 7i96
We should be able to get you going. The good news in the last few days, the release version of Linuxcnc as been bumped up to V 2.8 so now Plasmac is part of the core distribution.

I think your best beat would be to start again. Visit the downloads page and Install the new ISO for Linuxcnc V 2.8 on Debian 10 Buster.
linuxcnc.org/downloads/

That will get you on a common supported platform so people will know what your environment is.

Then I would play around with the Simulations (sims) to get abit of an idea how Linuxcnc works.

You also need to check your latency at this time