Non-random ATC, gmoccapy & tool pockets numbers

More
09 Oct 2019 20:45 #147596 by dm17ry
i'm configuring the ATC on a Mazak VQC15 which is a 16-position geneva wheel driven chain with tools being put in/out by the spindle moves. it was mostly straight-forward, but i have never worked with an ATC before so have some doubts.

my M6 routine assumes pockets 1..16 are in the ATC magazine and pockets >16 for manually loaded tools. my idea was to try to keep most of the tools in the table and just change pockets in the table for ones i need for the program.

but in the current non-random toolchanger implementation the pocket number column in the tool table is ignored and the row number is used as a pocket number instead. but neither the tool edit GUI nor gmoccapy displays this row number. both can sort the table by "pocket" column, but you still have be careful not to miss any sequential pocket number. which is a bit odd, imho...

i was thinking about patching the loadToolTable() function to honor the P column and return an error if there are any duplicates but not sure if i'm missing something... do i?

2 andypugh: i also had to modify the carousel.comp in a couple of places:
a. incremented the position read from the binary position feedback inputs by one, so that "0000" means 1 and "1111" means 16. otherwise it wouldn't move to to position 0.
b. changed "pocket-number" and "current-position" type from signed to float to directly connect them to motion.analog-in/out and read/set from g-code.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2019 12:43 #147633 by pl7i92
if there is no tool in the pocket the toolchange does complete with no tool loaded but with the table settings to the tool
so just load manuell the tool by pressing the buttons on the control panel and it there for use
if there are indicators that a real tool needs to be you need a manuell tool change setup to the ATC

More
18 Oct 2019 12:52 #148189 by andypugh