5 Axis TCP Simultaneous Kinematics Fusion 360 setup Mesa 7i76e

More
19 Apr 2023 15:21 #269426 by wiremonkey
Hello folks,
I'm new to LinuxCNC, but I have a lot of CNC experience, 3 axis or less (lathe). I have built my own CNC machines, but mostly using grbl controller on arduino. I'm very intrigued by LinuxCNC and want to add A and C axis to one of my CNC routers. I'll build a LinuxCNC machine on a RPi or something with a little more horse power. I have a Mesa 7i76e card. I want to do simultaneous (TCP kinematics?) machining.
So, now for questions:
1. Can I output from Fusion 360 CAM for LinuxCNC TCP (my vastly preferred creation tool)? If so, is there a post processor ready to go for this. I see a Linux EMC and EMC2 PP in Fusion 360, but there are no details listed regarding continuous 5 axis, etc. Has anyone done this successfully?
2. Is the 7i76e Mesa card an appropriate controller for simultaneous 5 axis?
3. How difficult is it to install and configure TCP/kinematics for this setup? I'm not a programmer, but do understand editing configuration files, etc. Is there sufficient documentation?
4. Is there anyone out there using this configuration willing to help me if I get stuck? 
5. I've seen a few videos of this working on youtube, but there isn't a lot of support documentation for setting the configuration files, etc. Maybe I just haven't found it? If you know a good repository of this knowledge, please share.

These are my questions so for before I take the $570 plunge and purchase a harmonic drive (zero backlash?) AC unit.  

I want to become a penguin adopter and look forward to a more editable and powerful software interface. I'm hoping to make this work! Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm happy to create videos documenting this process for future 5 axis peeps.
Thanks in advance,
Tyler 
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Apr 2023 09:19 #269476 by Aciera