Beginners Controller Question

More
12 Mar 2019 08:04 #128416 by MatthewMachinist
Hello,

This is my first post here, I am a Machinist currently working in Cad/Cam, my background is mostly manual machines but I did have a 3 year stint on cnc mills in a jobbing shop, we programmed the cnc's 100% of the time in G code on the pendant.

I am looking at my first CNC build, I currently have a RF45 mill which is an option for conversion but I am looking at other options. I am working on a Bill of Materials and most components have been selected.

However I am really confused about the controller, my planned setup will be...
Old computer with parallel port, Ubuntu and Linux CNC
Parallel Port cable
CNC Controller?
Anything else needed?
Nema 34 - 900 oz in 6.1 amp stepper motors

So I should mention that my weakness is electronics, so I am really not sure what is needed/ suitable to drive the stepper motors. I would like an all in one 4 axis unit, I have seen some cheap ones with a 3 amp limit which I am pretty sure are too small for the Nema 34 steppers. I have had a good look through the list provided in the link below, but I am just not sure what the best option is in 2019. Can someone point me in a good direction?

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?LinuxCNC_Supported_Hardware

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Mar 2019 14:40 #128438 by bevins
LinuxCNC is the controller.

More
12 Mar 2019 14:56 #128441 by andypugh
You could look at the Geckodrive G540, though that too is only 3.5A.

You might want to consider the closed-loop stepper drives available from Leadshine.
That would be an individual drive for each axis, but that might not be a bad thing, it allows axis-level repair rather than looking for a whole new G540. These have performance rather closer to a servo than a stepper.
www.amazon.com/Leadshine-Stepper-86HBM80...-D1008/dp/B06ZY1KWLY