urandom solves latency issues ?

More
10 Oct 2013 07:33 - 10 Oct 2013 07:34 #39723 by 0x0539
Hello, I'm very new to EMC2, so new that I'm currently on the process of selecting the best hardware I have at home to run it.
I'm now testing a HP 5700 SFF based on ICH8, I have installed EMC2 to the local hard drive using the official linuxcnc 10.04 LTS media, kernel options are stock (no isolcpus nor noirqblanace and such) although I've disabled some devices at BIOS but it seems not to make a difference.

Starting multiple instances of glxgears and loading the CPU to 100% produces a max jitter of 61174 and 20460 ns.

If I open a terminal and type:
# cat /dev/urandom > /dev/null

Now running the latency test again (with all the same stuff as before) I get the following figures: 4148 and 3363 ns.

Should I trust this figures ? And if so what's going on ?
Last edit: 10 Oct 2013 07:34 by 0x0539.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2013 15:14 - 10 Oct 2013 15:15 #39726 by ArcEye

If I open a terminal and type:
# cat /dev/urandom > /dev/null

Now running the latency test again (with all the same stuff as before) I get the following figures: 4148 and 3363 ns.

Should I trust this figures ? And if so what's going on ?

You are creating a high CPU load, a cpu hog
See my FAQ for an explanation
www.linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/forum...me-latency-solutions

Does suggest that you really ought to be running with the isolcpus kernel parameter to isolate all bar one kernel
Looks like a dual core so you would need isolcpus=1

The ICH_8 Rev 04 chip has the SMI problem also discussed in that FAQ.
It appears to be only that revision and if you are getting 20K with no spikes normally, you can discount that most likely.
Do a lspci -vv (2 x v not w) to see the exact chip details to be sure.

regards
Last edit: 10 Oct 2013 15:15 by ArcEye.
The following user(s) said Thank You: 0x0539

More
10 Oct 2013 19:49 - 10 Oct 2013 21:49 #39734 by 0x0539