Low Voltage on Parallel Pin

More
03 Dec 2013 16:55 - 03 Dec 2013 16:56 #41305 by purged
Hi!
It's my first time using LinuxCNC after some months of GRBL. However everything went surprisingly smooth: I installed it on my old PC with an Intel Q6600 and an Asrock P5B-DE MB. 4 GB of RAM and onboard Parallel Port, all other Hardware removed. As a motor driver I'am using this infamous 4xTB6560 China driver but mine has another pinout .
It has an enable pin for every axis which I am trying to trigger with
net xenable => parport.0.pin-04-out
net yenable => parport.0.pin-17-out
net zenable => parport.0.pin-05-out

in my custom.hal and for X and Z that works just fine! Pin 17 on the other hand just puts out 1.55 V when High.

That seems to benough to be sensed by an Input Pin (Connecting 17 to an Input, parallel port tester behaves just as expected) but not for the driver board. The Y Axis just wont move.
Of course there are plenty of possible workarounds like rewiring or using the 4th axis driver as Y but for elegance's sake I was hoping some configuration issue to be the cause.

Here is my bios and parallel port Settings, in case it matters:

Attachments:
Last edit: 03 Dec 2013 16:56 by purged.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Dec 2013 17:07 #41306 by emcPT
Replied by emcPT on topic Low Voltage on Parallel Pin
Good morning,

Pins 1 14 16 and 17 are control pins and are made differently inside the parallel port "hardware". I suggest you use a breakup board, that already have the electronics built in to take the power needed from all the pins. This is in my point of view the most easy (and safe) way to use the parallel port.

More
03 Dec 2013 19:11 #41307 by cncbasher
theirs two ways to achieve , however it includes a bit of hacking ...

either fit a pullup resistor of say 10k from pin 17 to 5v on the pcb .. or