LinuxCNC on dell 1520 laptop

More
03 Mar 2014 21:34 #44360 by booski
Hello everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster!

I'm hoping that somebody here might be able to help me with an issue I've been encountering with trying to run LinuxCNC on my dell 1520.

Firstly, I know that laptops aren't the best at running linux CNC
Secondly, I know that the 1520 hasn't got a par port but I know of an express card that allows for a full hardware par port (not printer only)
Thirdly, I'm quite new to linux but I'm not new to researching things and finding out for myself but I've reached my limits

So the machine itself is a 2ghz core 2 duo with 4gb ram and 840m graphics.

I have installed ubuntu 10.04 from the latest live CD and have selected the recommended nvidia drivers.

This is the problem, when running the Linux latency test I got a whopping maximum jitter on the base 25uS thread of over 300,000ns

To combat this I have:

Applied the SMI Fix
Applied the isoscpus=1 fix to grub
Applied the idle=poll fix to grub

There is next to nothing I can do in the Bios because dell don't allow access to anything.

Now, after a fresh boot, opening firefox and a glxgears window I'm now looking at 21,330uS jitter which is a vast improvement yes?

However, if I run the Kernel latency test in usr/kernel#/testsuite/kern/latency I get this.
TH| lat min| ovl min| lat avg| lat max| ovl max| overruns
RTD| -1660| -1660| -1470| 113453| 168471| 42
RTD| -1649| -1660| -1456| 99547| 168471| 43
RTD| -1650| -1660| -1462| 77172| 168471| 43
RTD| -1660| -1660| -1436| 185660| 185660| 45
RTD| -1660| -1660| -1468| 131408| 185660| 46
RTD| -1659| -1660| -1439| 137937| 185660| 48

This is now where I become really stuck because the latency in linuxcnc hal test is reasonable but in the kernel it's terrible and I'm getting overruns of which I have no idea what they are.

Any ideas?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Mar 2014 22:29 #44364 by ArcEye