New install of LinuxCNC mutliple issues

More
06 Aug 2016 04:21 #78400 by Michael
I am new to Linux as you will see. I just installed Linuxcnc to my old desktop with an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz E6600, 4GB ram, Nvidia GeForce 9800GT 1GB. I have a few issues.

1. Right off the bat I was able to update Linuxcnc using the Update Manager. Now it says I have 89 updates available and when I click "Install updates" it states "zero updates applied, there are 89 more updates available.

2. I have no idea how to see the video card installed or its driver. I tried running the command lspci | grep vga and it returned nothing but the same command prompt I started with.

3. I currently have 60,000ish latency and would like to bring that down. Based on reading I believe a good place to start is the video card. Next i would like to isolate the cores but when I attempt to edit the file at etc/default/grub and then save it it states that it "cannot open the file to write"

Sorry for being hopelessly lost. I have spent all day trying to figure this out on my own but have not gained much ground.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Aug 2016 15:32 #78413 by ArcEye
1) I don't use synaptic. In a terminal
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist upgrade

2) sudo lspci -k will show the driver module in use for each, it will probably be nouveau
If your card has on-board video, remove the card, change BIOS to use the on-board chip and try that

3) Just general Linux newbieness
Try reading forum.linuxcnc.org/forum/18-computer/15256-linux-tips, you should see why you can't open it unless you use sudo

regards

More
06 Aug 2016 23:00 #78420 by Michael