New To Linux Question On Setting Up The Gigabyte GB-BXBT-1900

More
15 Nov 2017 06:03 #101819 by techbuilder
Hi Folks,
Moving on to my question, I recently bought a Gigabyte GB-BXBT-1900 and am currently in the process with figuring out which build of Linux to put on the computer.

I've heard of people putting Linux Mint 18.3 but when setting up a computer for LinuxCNC there's a special kernel that must be installed?(sorry if I don't make sense I'm still learning from the ground up about Linux)

Which Kernel would I use for the Gigabyte GB-BXBT-1900 or which version of Linux should I use?

I will be using a Mesa 7I76E to control my stepper controllers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Nov 2017 06:16 #101820 by InMyDarkestHour
Just use the official Linuxcnc release, it'll be easier to begin with, everything is ready to start configuring.

If you want to use a USB wifi dongle there's a thread floating around that describes towards the end what you need to get going.

Once you get more familiar you could try Linux Mint

More
15 Nov 2017 06:19 #101821 by techbuilder
What's the benefit to using Linux Mint vs the official LinuxCNC release?

More
15 Nov 2017 06:34 #101822 by InMyDarkestHour
It's all personal choice, Linux Mint does look pretty and is a very capable distro, actually I have it installed on my laptop & desktop. I really like it for everyday use

On the laptop I have compiled Linuxcnc to run in simulator mode more for testing gcode prior to running it on the mill, but that's just my choice.

If you are still feeling your way around Linux, the official release has everything you need to setup a machine, just do your config and off you go, barring Murphy sticking his head in. The time spent compiling Linuxcnc on Mint would be better spent learning to use Linuxcnc.