Another latency question

More
24 Jan 2018 13:43 #104936 by Tady
Hello

I'm running a debian 9 with RT preempt kernel on a HP pavilion db6 laptop. I have some issues with latency.
I was running latency test and I don't know if the numbers are any good.. I was fiddling with bios but this laptop doesn't have alot of settings. I was only able to turn of threading for VM.. The rest i don't know how to do..
I am a beginner in the LinuxCNC world.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jan 2018 15:09 #104939 by skunkworks
Replied by skunkworks on topic Another latency question
What are you planning to do with it? If you are planning to use external hardware (mesa) - that is probably ok.

one thing to try is isolcpus=whatever your highest core is in the and maybe idle=poll in the kernel line... The cores start out at 0 so if you have a 4 core machine then isolcpus=3

This might have a performance hit on the system - though in my experience on newer computer hardware it isn't noticable

for testing - when the computer first boots to the grub screen - hit 'e' to edit. Look for the line that ends in 'quiet' and add isolcpus= and maybe idle=poll. then F10 to boot

sam

More
24 Jan 2018 15:25 #104941 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Another latency question
Also if you intend to use external hardware, you do not need a base thread so you can get a better
representation of the latency by disabling the base thread:

latency-test 1ms 1ms
or
latency-histogram --nobase

More
24 Jan 2018 16:10 #104942 by Tady
Replied by Tady on topic Another latency question
I'm running my own driver... I tried using the hm2_eth but it's too complicated for me.. I couldn't even find where the drivers talks to the ethernet card...
My driver sends position info over ethernet to a teensy MCU running at 180MHz... The comm works no problems there but I'm getting some strange behaviour from linuxCNC i think there is something wrong with my install...