Raspberry Pi3 GIPO & Single axis

More
07 Mar 2020 21:43 #159439 by Sturmer
Hello ,every one this is my first post here.
Im total noob in LinuxCNC configuration. I know about this for good 10 years but never had a chance to play with it.
Now i finaly got some hardware , and i have an idea of making my life easier by using LinuxCNC on raspbery pi3 with touch screen.
Idea is to use Raspberry pi to run one axis , and have a DRO type of screen. I have a SC5780 stepper driver with stepper that has encoder and brake on it self. As i really don't know where to start. Im asking here. Can i just drive the driver directly from the RPI GIPO ?

I have managed to install LinuxCNC on to the raspberry Pi using this tutorial.

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?RPi3BPreemptRT#buildhalgpio

And by some reading and playing managed to find this link to enable the working of the GPIO

erste.de/linuxCNC_raspberry_PI4.html

But im stuck for now , and need some guidance to where to go next after the fist install , and how to create single axis display - and how to even create the nesecery HAL and INI files to run only one stepper motor with brake.

Any help would be appreciated , and i hope i have posted this into the correct topic.

Thank you in advance , Stephan!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Mar 2020 00:20 - 09 Mar 2020 00:22 #159537 by andypugh

Can i just drive the driver directly from the RPI GIPO ?

Probably.

You will need at least version 2.8 of LinuxCNC as that included the hal_pi_gpio driver.

I have also just noticed that the driver has no documentation, which is a bit unhelpful. There is some info in the sample HAL file, though.

github.com/LinuxCNC/linuxcnc/blob/master...hal_pi_gpio_demo.hal

(note that that HAL file is actually an example using the Pi to drive two axis of steppers)
Last edit: 09 Mar 2020 00:22 by andypugh.

More
10 Mar 2020 11:48 #159644 by Sturmer