Confused about hardware to get

More
08 Sep 2021 18:38 #219984 by 109jb
I have a RF-45 type bench mill with 3-axis closed loop steppers. Up until now I have been using GRBL on an Arduino combined with an old netbook for control. The steppers and home/limit switches are connected to a parallel port breakout board which the Arduino feeds through the parallel port connection. This system has work OK so far and I would say it is good for what it is; however, I am to the point where I want more that GRBL can provide. I had another bench mill that I used an old desktop running LinuxCNC and want to get back to LinuxCNC. I'm not looking for MHz performance. GRBL is limited to 30 KHz step rate which is ok for me and my use. What I would like to achieve is being able to have the canned cycles, cutter radius compensation, probe input, possibly 4th axis, and MPG support that LinuxCNC can provide. I don't think I need spindle control. I'm a hobbyist, so I wind up making a lot of one-off parts and sort of "manual" machine them using MDI where I think I could do about as well and easier with a MPG. I don't mind spending a bit of money for something like a MESA card but want to stay away from the huge desktop solution. Here is what I envision:
  1. 10 to 15 inch display Could be HDMI or VGA, don't care, but I do have a few 15" LCD monitors available.
  2. MPG - Would do either wired or wireless, USB, or whatever works type connection.
  3. Some kind of single board computer. I have been looking at the Rock  Pi X which is a X86 SBC with Atom processor, but not locked in. Could be a Raspberry PI, or whatever
  4. Ethernet MESA card or similar.
  5. Mount all of the above to a arm on the side of the machine
So my confusion is what works and would be the least painful to set up?  This leads to the following questions:
  1. Is there a SBC that is easiest/proven? The Rock Pi X seems like it is pretty well tested in terms of running Linux although not specifically the LinuxCNC distro.