Seeking some help in finding cause of Linuxcnc freezing

More
16 May 2022 20:07 #243107 by Apollo
Dear forum members,

I have started a trial to realize a LinuxCNC based DC servo setup, as a trial for an intended self-build CNC mill. While doing so I have frequently visited this forum and the Linux CNC documentation for info, which already helped me a lot. Unfortunately my LinuxCNC installation keeps crashing after a small period of time. Initially I thought this was because I used a demo simulation, however even now I have completely configured a MESA 7i76e using Pncconfig I still run into the same issue. I tried various things based on the information I found here and elsewhere on internet, however I am new to using Linux and thus far none of the things I tried were successful. Via this route I hope someone with more experience in debugging hardware is willing to give me a couple of hints... I will try to start describing the issue I encounter: When I start Linux all go's well and I can do what I like (such as writing to this forum). I can also start-up LinuxCNC and if I do nothing after this will stay responsive for a short while. However after some time (couple of minutes) the program freezes and with it all of Linux. The only thing which will still move is the mouse pointer. When I zoom in and out a couple of time just after I started LinuxCNC I get the impression the error occurs faster and usually the system freezes after only a few times scrolling with the mouse wheel. Latency test gives something like 9000 for jitter on servo thread and 14000 for base thread.