G41, G42 help please

More
18 Oct 2018 12:35 #118991 by AlbertHall
I am trying to get my head round tool diameter compensation. I think the problem is that I don't understand the lead in bit.
The attached file is my attempt at a square with no compensation, G41, and G42.
(It's not supposed to do something useful, just demonstrate tool compensation.)

The uncompensated square is fine.
The ends of the path outside the square don't connect up.
The path inside the square makes cuts outside the square too.

Please tell me how to fix this.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Oct 2018 17:33 #119005 by lars
Replied by lars on topic G41, G42 help please
Hello.

First of: I have never used cutter compensation myself before. But this is how I understand it:

You think you told LinuxCNC that it is supposed to mill a square. But LinuxCNC does not know about the square, it just cares about the last, the current and the next move.

When you finish your outside square with `G1 X10 Y10` it tells LinuxCNC to move so it does not cut into X10 and Y10. And that's what it does and stops before cutting into Y < 10. You need at least one move before and after the outline you want to cut.

Example for the your outside square with moves to ensure correct lead-ins and lead-outs:
G43 H1
G42 D1
G1 Y10 (Go up so we already cut the corner at the left when starting)
G1 Z1
G1 X10 Y10
G1 X20 Y10
G1 X20 Y20
G1 X10 Y20
G1 X10 Y10
G1 Y0 (Finish by going further down to cross Y10. You could also modify the above line to go directly to Y0)
G0 Z15
G0 X0 Y0
G40