More commands to control coolant than just M7 and M8

More
11 Jan 2022 16:50 #231459 by gerrg
Hello! So I just started playing with coolant stuff (air blast and mist coolant) and I'm trying to find a way to add different setups for coolants. currently i have my airblast set to turn on when M8 is sent, and mist to turn on when M7 is sent, but was thinking it might be handy to have more options, so maybe commands to turn on the following options as an example:

1) airblast on full
2) mist on full
3) airblast on/off in 1 a second pulses
4) mist on/off in 1 a second pulses

Is there an easy way to do this? my only though it user defined M codes (M100-M199 i think), but I haven't messed with any of those yet. Anyways, just figured i'd ask. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Jan 2022 17:10 #231460 by andypugh
You could set up a software PWM in HAL, enabled by the iocontrol.0.coolant-mist and iocontrol.0.coolant-flood pins.
Then set the duty cycle to either 100% or 50% (or something else) using either an user M-code, remapped-G-code or a G-code analogue output (M68).

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/gcode/m-code.html#mcode:m100-m199
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/remap/remap.html (I see that M80, M81 etc are available)
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/gcode/m-code.html#mcode:m68

I think that a remap would need to be configured on top of one of the others options (as a convenience feature) unless you wanted to use a Python remap.

I would suggest M100 P50 to set the duty cycle for both, then M7 and M8 for on and off, I think.

More
11 Jan 2022 18:50 #231469 by BigJohnT
That would be easy to setup in ClassicLadder a 1 second on/off timer circuit.

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/ladder/ladder-examples.html
gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/ladder/index.html

JT

More
13 Jan 2022 22:08 - 14 Jan 2022 17:45 #231711 by gerrg