Axis movement stops working - strange behaviour...

More
11 Nov 2009 16:03 #1107 by nils
Hi guys, first of all: I'm a total CNC newbie. The CNC I built for myself was the first I ever saw in real life. My problem has been very confusing for me, so this might all look like ramblings from a mad man:

The problem manifests itself as certain movements just won't work after certain other movements (took me forever to find something consistent). Both gcode and jogging will cause this to happen. I have actually done several successful operations like profiling guitar bodies without any issues, but I first started seeing problems when trying to do image-to-gcode. The CNC wouldn't move in the negative X direction at all. After much testing yesterday I discovered that it's only -X, -Y and +Z directions that will stop working; +X +Y and -Z always works. (Z direction is reversed in pin config, so that probably explains why it's the other direction that fails).

This isn't related to any limits (don't have hardware limits, and aren't even close to the soft limits). Now the really curious part: After careful testing using jog in continuous mode I found that -X will not work if the last Y direction was negative. Same for -Y, which will not work if the last X direction was negative. Simply jogging the X or Y axis in the positive direction will allow the other axis to move in the negative direction. Didn't get to test what actually causes the Z axis to stop&start working, was just happy I found something I was able to consistently rep.

Quitting and restarting Axis will also allow me to move in the direction that wouldn't work. Turning off and on the power for the stepper motor drivers doesn't make any difference, so I'm pretty sure it's a software issue.

When I say that it doesn't move at all, that isn't 100% correct. There is slight movement, probably minimum move (2 degrees) every 5 seconds or something when I try continuous jog in a direction that doesn't work.