Axis in parallel to external MDI comands --> Goal TCP/IP commands

More
21 Jan 2019 20:59 #124566 by ChrisSchwFn
Hello CNC folks,

I am new to the topic of linuxcnc and I have a few questions to the pros of you. My goal is to get the complete control of my milling machine with an external computer over TCP IP commands. To achive this a startet a simple python programm by using the linuxcnc library. It was no problem form me to read out all the information from the machine, except setting something with the mdi methode.
I googled a lot and tryed out several approaches to execute a simple command, but without any succes. Here is what i did:
  • I started the axis gui and init the machne. I run a python script to execute mdi commands --> no success
  • - made all suggested checkings (no estop & enabled & homed and (s.interp_state == linuxcnc.INTERP_IDLE)
    - Mode was read as MDI
    - mdi command seems do be send, but not been executed
    - my script had write and execution permission --> no success
    - Q: does the axis gui block external mdi commands such as a python programm or MDI?(in bash)?
    - I have the feeling something is blocking my commands
  • I tryed out the same python script, without axis --> no success, becaus I was not able tho change the Mode
  • Do i have to configre something to allow the external access to the machine?
  • - I read about an channel somewhere deep in the configuration to allow the access from python, is that true?
    - If yes, may somemone help me out, where to do the config and how?
  • Is there a better way to send tcp/ip command to the axis gui, by writing my own little broker server and parsing in commands and using the mdi methode?

I appreciate any advice from you Folks,

Best regards,
Chris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Jan 2019 14:13 #124614 by pl7i92
Hi you can use Either MESA Stuff like 7i92 or 7i80 7i76e/D
or a ethercat

you can provide standard TCP to the Hal module