Strange problem with axis GUI

More
09 Oct 2024 23:11 #311682 by minimal3d
Hello,

i'm using axis gui since day one with LinuxCNC 2.9.3 and on bookworm with latest packages.
Th control pc is a cheap dell wyze 3040. My machine has 7i96S + 3 JMC CL-Steppers for XYZ and works okay.
But from time to time i got Motor Position errors randomly on each of the axis.
I first thought this could be my ini-file as i'm just a noob and must have configured some nonsense...
Setting the minimum Following error higher helps a little, but not much. (i tried 0.005 and set it to 0.015)

Today i had it happening on a large program ~60k lines of gcode. It seems axis jumped from line 15k to 18k somehow during execution.
And halted the machine. So i planned first to go back to stable 2.8.4, but it seems to need debian buster, but i don't want to reinstall.
So i tried for gmoccapy instead of axis and strangely no problems at all... A over 100k lines file run straight without errors....

Maybe it's a bug for larger gcodes or just some coincidence. (in 2.9.2 e.g. i had the axis bug that i couldn't start the program mid-file by rightclick and "run from here"; so maybe it's some minor bug?)

Any idea?

Best regards,
minimal3d

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2024 00:53 #311687 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Strange problem with axis GUI
I would not expect following errors to be GUI related but rather setup or latency related
can you post your hal/ini files?

More
10 Oct 2024 10:23 #311718 by minimal3d
Hello,

here are .hal and .ini files. (Most of the files was set up with the wizard.)

Best regards,
minimal3d
Attachments:

More
10 Oct 2024 14:35 #311733 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Strange problem with axis GUI
OK those look normal.

When you have an issue, can you run this command:

halcmd show param *.tmax

and post the result?

More
24 Oct 2024 09:36 #313045 by minimal3d
Hello,

i just had time to work on this: