HAL HID consumer device

More
11 Feb 2018 00:10 #105726 by JDona
Hello,

Newbie here, that is to HAL/LinuxCNC though i develop low-level board drivers in Windows planet.

I am working on a control system project for a custom machine. Basically to provide an Instructor/Trainee stations. The trainee station or control panel is the one next to the machine. The instructor station is fitted a little further away. The instructor station is basically the current LinuxCNC controller flavor, everything is opened, while the trainee station is subset of that.

I am considering using HAL & USB HID as the communication mechanism for the Trainee station, this gives us the flexibility to use various devices or panels for the Trainee station like Windows PC, MAC or custom panel with knobs/LCDs/buttons.

I have downloaded LinuxCNC, prepared the dev environment for HAL and libc and ready to dig in.

Thought I check in first with you guys if there is already a generic HID driver example, or even pre-built binary which takes parameters to interact with custom HID consumer devices (not keyboard) to send/receive bytes.

The initial screen is going to be simple, I am certain that it's been done before on HAL. We need the DROs to be sent to that station, Jog 4 axis, Zeros, start/hold/stop buttons.

If no generic HID driver that can work directly, can you point me to the right track/files/setup to do the above?

From my initial research, i think user space program is sufficient which I understand it's probably 100 ms or so delay getting the DROs back to the station? This is OK, and probably even getting the DROs values while the machine running is not even needed.

Would Virtual/COM be better? Faster?

Any comment, links, samples, previous work starting point is highly appreciated.

Jim.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Feb 2018 05:12 #105732 by InMyDarkestHour
You may want to look at this project. I'm not too sure if this is exactly what you are after.