New to LinuxCNC, need info on HAL and M Codes

More
07 May 2018 21:52 #110347 by SleipnirPilot
Folks,

Im very new to LinuxCNC and programming in general - my previous machine ran on GRBL and I did very little gcode editing with it.

I have a laser added to my CNC router and am having difficulty setting it up how I would like.

Currently the laser driver receives an On/Off signal via M62/M63. This is creating a problem as I am unable to vary the input power to the driver and cannot vary my laser intensity. I have done a bunch of research on this forum and have decided to use a M67 signal with a Q value to control my laser power. My question is this: How do I change the setup in LinuxCNC to send a M67 signal to the pin on the paraport that is currently receiving the M62/M63 signals?

In other words, parport1.pin14 is the pin connected to my laser driver input, but is getting M62/M63. How do I change it to M67?

Thanks for any instruction and advice!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 May 2018 22:51 #110352 by rodw
The bigger question is how do you physically vary laser power?

Currently you are using a digital on/off signal with 2 states so that probably can't output a PWM signal to vary the laser power (if thats how it is controlled).

So to help we need to know what inputs are on the laser itself to control both on/off and laser intensity.

More
07 May 2018 23:07 #110354 by SleipnirPilot
The driver uses a PWM signal, on my old GRBL machine it was via a M3 Sxxx command in the gcode file.

Speaking w the driver mfg, the driver itself doesnt need a specific M code, just looks at whatever the 0-10V input is (normally via a PWM) and proportionalizes the output on a 0-100% power scale