Servo driver stuck in ServoOnDisabled? (CTB driver and servo)

More
07 Mar 2021 16:15 #201305 by thomaseg
Hi,

I'm new to LinuxCNC, HAL configuration and EtherCAT, but i'm trying my best to learn it. I've really been strugling with getting EtherCAT up and running in LinuxCNC. But i'm getting closer! I got a couple of beckhoff modules for testing and a single servodrive in my testbench right now. I got all devices in OP-mode. I can set the outputs on the beckhoff modules. I can read position data from the servo drives when i turn the axel on the servo. But i cannot get past "ServoOnDisable=TRUE" and actually turn on the servo. I'm pretty sure that i'm missing something basic here, but i'm running out of ideas on what i'm doing wrong here...

What are the basics for getting ServoOnDisable to be FALSE?

The driver is an CTB model, but i'm pretty sure this is common along a lot of driver models. At least the generic hal pin configuration is similar to Rexroth and a couple of other examples i've found...so my guess is that there is some basic that i don't know of...a guess could be some sort of security to avoid enabling the servo by mistake...?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Mar 2021 16:28 #201310 by db1981
Hi,

this depends on the drive. Probably it is an Can over Ethercat Drive, then you have to implement the usually steps for the DS402 State machine (statusword / controlword).

can you share your ethercat_conf.xml and the exact type of servo drive?

its only an minor step to get the motor turning... :-)

More
07 Mar 2021 16:44 #201311 by thomaseg

this depends on the drive. Probably it is an Can over Ethercat Drive, then you have to implement the usually steps for the DS402 State machine (statusword / controlword).

can you share your ethercat_conf.xml and the exact type of servo drive?