Access or read amperage going to the motors

More
24 Mar 2021 14:03 #203510 by bierluiz
Hello,

I'm working on a CNC mill which was retrofitted with LinuxCNC (someone else did it).

It uses a Motenc Lite board, connected to the original VFDs and motors ("Red cap" Fanuc 5,5 Kw, I think it is a 3S model).

There is basically no documentation from who did it, plus I am a rookie on LinuxCNC.

What I need is to access/read the electrical current going to the motors.

I checked the outputs from the motenc and could not find a connection from the board to the VFD. In fact, the VFD does not appear at all in HAL or Classicladder.

Couldn't find any topic related.

Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Mar 2021 01:29 #203562 by andypugh
The VFD might be connected via a +/- 10V output. Or it could be on Modbus.

Look through all the HAL files to find where (depending on LinuxCNC version) either motion.spindle-speed* or spindle.0.speed* is linked.

There is a choice of spindle speed outputs, rpm or rps, absolute or signed. But one of them will be connected, Follow it through.
The following user(s) said Thank You: bierluiz

More
25 Mar 2021 10:08 #203599 by bierluiz
Thank you,

But what about the X, Y and Z motors?

For X, for example, Xoutput fluctuates between -1 and 1, depending on the feed. What is confusing me is that Xoutput is connected to a DAC pin, but it is already analog.

And what unit is Xoutput?

More
27 Mar 2021 01:51 #203766 by andypugh
Xoutput is a signal, it could be anything as signal names are created at the integrators (ie your) discretion.

You could use "Xoutput" to refer to spindle speed in, though that would be wilfully eccentric.

But, guessing at likely options, it sounds like the signal from the PID to the drive. It could easily be volts, rpm, or -1 to 1 or -100% to 100% duty cycle.