Cast "arduino" long via modbus (two 16 bit uints) in int32_t.

More
05 Jun 2021 16:58 #211232 by gesamtplan
Hello,

I am new with linuxcnc and I didn't find an answer to my question. Maybe here is some help.

I build a MPG which is working with an Arduino Nano putting all data via Modbus TCP to LinuxCNC. It works good with mb2hal but i found a problem while setting up the encoder.

When I write the Encoder long from the arudino to modbus the Encoder Signal is cause of ModbusTCP converted to a word (uint16) and mb2hal converts it back to a s32 with the Uint16 variable input.

When I give this Signal to an encoder input it works but when the value jumps from 65535 to 0 and back I have a fast movement on the axis which is jogging. This is not a good solution but I have actually now clue to solve it.

One option would be to cast the variable on the arduino but I didn't find any solution to cast it back in HAL.

Is there any chance to do this or is it posible to change some things on the encoder site to avoid the jump von 65535 to 0 and the movement of my axis?

It would be glad if someone could give me a hint where i should start searching. :-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jun 2021 17:30 - 05 Jun 2021 17:30 #211235 by PCW
If you are sending 32 bits is should be easy to fix but if you are only sending 16 bits
the wrap needs to be handled by the driver or hal code.
This cannot be done with a cast since it requires a simple state machine
(looking at the current and previous count) to detect overflows and
underflows and extend the count range to 32 or 64 bits.
A simple hal component could do this however
Last edit: 05 Jun 2021 17:30 by PCW.
The following user(s) said Thank You: gesamtplan

More
05 Jun 2021 18:38 #211239 by gesamtplan
I don't unterstand fully. Like I said I am relativly new to this topic. How could I do this in HAL. Didn't find such things in documentation.