How to make HAL pins from .c kinematics file?

More
20 Aug 2024 01:52 #308182 by winyk
Hello. I am a newbie. Please note that not only I am new to LinuxCNC, but I am also new to CNC as well. However, the reason I am learning LinuxCNC is because my boss want someone to help with one of the mills that we have in our office. The mill is very similar to that of 5axiskins config (located at configs/sim/axis/vismach/5axis/bridgemill) that provided with LinuxCNC by default. Since it is too dangerous to experiment on the actual machine, I am testing things out on a virtual machine (LinuxCNC on Debian inside VirtualBox). I have installed LinuxCNC using run-in-place method.

What I am trying to achieve for now is to make some extra HAL pins from 5axiskins.c . My boss suggest that I can create additional HAL pins by simply adding additional members to the haldata structure in 5axiskins.c .  Actually, he had done this before. He managed to create two HAL pins named x-offset and y-offset by modifying the haldata struct to be as followed:
struct haldata {
    hal_float_t *pivot_length;
    hal_float_t *x_offset;
    hal_float_t *y_offset;
} *haldata;

Then he added these lines to the [HAL] part in the 5axis.ini to create two signals
HALCMD = net :x-offset 5axiskins.x-offset
HALCMD = net :y-offset 5axiskins.y-offset
HALCMD = net: sets x-offset -0.25
HALCMD = net: sets y-offset -37.975

However, after I tried to follow his steps, I cannot reproduce his result. AXIS is no longer able to start the config, and it gives me an error saying that pin 5axiskins.x-offset does not exist. 

This error was generated from the lines I added in 5axis.ini. Commenting out the four lines I just added in 5axis.ini allowed me to get into AXIS, but I couldn't find the pins I just added inside Halshow (note that pivot-length pin comes with 5axiskins.c by default). So the cause of the error is clear: the pins didn't get created at all.