Simple Serial Config?

More
21 May 2011 02:18 #9961 by BiOzZ
Simple Serial Config? was created by BiOzZ
i am working on a CNC controller
im using an ARM and a usb to rs232 chip

i cant go in to to much detail on it but basically i need EMC to send threw a serial port a command for every step and listen and react to bumper commands
example

TX:
X_Forward
X_Backwards
Y_Forward
Y_Backwards
Z_Up
Z_Down

RX:
X_Bumper_front
exc... exc...
also i can do it in non ascii like numbers from 0-255

... also any other commands like engaging the router mill or speed control would be grate but the basics are all i need first i can program the microcontroller and work the hardware around this but i have no experience with EMC

any preexisting serial configuration that works step to step (i cant have it store any information) that already exists will work i can open the config adn figure out the serial commands

if there is one already configured with EMC give me the name

thank you all!
credit will be given on the final product to the one who can help

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 May 2011 16:07 #9975 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Re:Simple Serial Config?
I think its unlikely to work because of jitter induced by the timing of the USB-Serial. Step motors need accurately spaced steps at a high rate. The USB parts precludes accurate step spacing and the serial
part prevents high rates. Certainly buffered USB interfaced step generators can generate accurate and high speed steps but in this case the USB peripheral generates the step timing, not EMC, and EMC is not designed to work with buffered devices.

Its probably possible to make a pure serial step motor interface work with EMC at relatively low speeds,