Lathe design/ngc questions

More
13 Aug 2013 01:40 #37597 by jstevewhite
Admitted newbie here. I designed and constructed a small (12x12x4") desktop CNC and implemented it using LinuxCNC, and with the exception of some wonkiness in my Z axis design, it all came off simple, easy, and just-works. I've learned a bunch in the two weeks since I started, but for two days I've been looking for information on building a lathe, and not having a lot of luck. So I'm gonna drop a comment in the forum and see if someone can point me to the resources I'm missing.

I envision a lathe with a long axis of rotation (well, in desktop terms - I'm thinking 30" or so :D), with 2" of Z radius. I want to be able to cut patterns on the surface of cylinders and tapers. My original idea was to have a horizontally mounted spindle driven along the zero line of the lathe's axis of rotation. I was imagining a stepper motor driving a fairly large (say, 1 rotation of the workpiece = 20 rotations of the stepper, to line up with my current 1/4-20tpi lead screws just to make the math easier), and of course, steppers driving 1/4-20 lead screws on both the long (X?) axis and the plunge (Z?) axis. This seems to introduce problems in ngc design, because rotation is in "degrees" rather than "inches" - or, to put it differently, I see that over a taper, designs will be distorted because a .25 radius and a .75 radius have radically different circumferences. I want to be able to cut spirals, stars, etc, at any point on a tapered shaft, and have them remain the proper aspect ratio.

I had the idea of swapping Z and X and using polar co-ordinates. So my angle would be Y and the distance would be what's normally Z, and I'd have (essentially) a 30 inch Z axis. This makes programming easier for me to visualize, but I can't find any tool that could model/visualize this idea.