Emco Compact 5 PC X touch-off

More
17 Jun 2014 05:03 #48016 by krlynn
I’m a beginner at CNC and machining in general. I have an Emco Compact 5 CNC PC that I acquired with a purpose to turn small handles. It’s running linuxcnc, configured with files I downloaded from this site.

After reading everything I could find on the subject, I spent several hours yesterday struggling to figure out how to properly set X0 in the G54 coordinate system. Getting the Z axis dialed in wasn’t a problem.

I’m testing with a program written for me by an expert (and member here) who used it to demo the lathe before I bought it. So I know the program can work to turn a piece of 1.5” diameter oak dowel into the intended shape. I came close one time, although the curves turned out to be much less pronounced than they’re supposed to be. I suspect that’s because the offset still wasn’t quite right and I don’t have tool-path compensation sorted out yet (at all). But I’ll get to that in due course.

The fact I came somewhat close to having X0 properly set on one pass and then couldn’t repeat that result (although I know I followed the same steps at least once again) makes me wonder if I failed to clear some settings at points when I need to. I closed and re-opened linuxcnc a few times and repeatedly homed to G53 X0 Z0, but that didn’t appear to make any difference.

My approach to testing was as follows. There is a block of code early in the referenced program that instructs the cutting tool to travel to X.75. After homing to G53 X0 Z0, I mounted a work-piece in the chuck identical to the one used to demo the lathe when I bought it. Then I touched off for both X and Z. After that I re-homed, removed the work-piece, and then executed the program line by line until I got to the X .75 instruction. Upon completion of that movement I could easily measure where I was in relation to the X axis.