Looking for help in getting an older CNC running

More
12 Jan 2015 13:26 #54909 by Russianwolf
Hi all,
I am new at this so use small words. ;)

I recently bought this CNC lathe. The electronics in it were questionable, so I trashed them and got a G540 driver box ( www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/produc...controller-duplicate ) and some new motors. I have just about gotten everything ready for a test but one part remains a big question for me.

When I took off the control panel I saw that it has a US Digital E2 Encoder to monitor/control spindle speed. But I have no clue if the old electronics will be compatible with the new G540 driver system. The older electronics does have a DB9 pin output that would match the G540 box's input terminal, but if they are actually compatible is anyone's guess.

So. What can I do here? I will likely be testing the X and Y axis system tomorrow. No problems there I hope. But the Spindle speed and threading??????

I do have a digital tach that I can get the spindle speed and enter it into the control software manual if that would help, but I'd love to get the encoder doing its original job.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2015 13:28 - 12 Jan 2015 13:31 #54910 by Russianwolf
Last edit: 12 Jan 2015 13:31 by Russianwolf.

More
12 Jan 2015 17:40 - 12 Jan 2015 17:42 #54920 by ArcEye
Hi

The Gecko G540 9 pin sockets are to connect motors to, no use for the encoder

The easiest answer is you will need a second breakout board and PCI parport card to connect it to.

The encoder is fairly simple, interface wise, it has 5 pins, +5v, GND, Z, A, B

www.usdigital.com/products/e2

The query to my mind is how is the index arranged when the drive is not 1:1?

Your photo shows it driven off the spindle presumably, at a great reduction which is going to produce a large number of index pulses per spindle revolution.