Autodesk Fusion 360 and LinuxCNC

More
12 Oct 2015 08:56 #63707 by drwatson
Let me start by saying that I am a novice CNC lather. I have done lots of manual lathe work, and am currently running LinuxCNC on my mill. Until now, I have just been using LinuxCNC to drive a modified Emco Compact 5. I am using Fusion 360 CAM to generate Gcode the same way I have done with my mill. I select the emc.cps file for post configuration. When I try and generate the code, I get an error saying:

Vendor url: www.autodesk.com
Legal: Copyright (C) 2012-2015 by Autodesk, Inc.
Error: Turning toolpath is not supported by the post configuration.
Error: Failed to invoke 'onOpen' in the post configuration.
Error:
Error: Failed to execute configuration.
Stop time: Monday, October 12, 2015 1:53:58 AM
Post processing failed.

If I select "Turning" in the drop down next to the cps selection, no emc cps files appear. What am I doing wrong? Is there another cps file specifically for lathe work?

Can I use another turning cps file that already ships with fusion and trust that that would work? I don't read Gcode, so I don't really know what I'm looking at but don't want to cause a crash.

Any help here would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Oct 2015 13:24 #63712 by ArcEye
You are trying to use a milling post processor to produce lathe code, bound not to work.

Ten seconds googling found this
camforum.autodesk.com/index.php?topic=7514.0

The autodesk forum would seem the logical place to start.

I don't read Gcode, so I don't really know what I'm looking at but don't want to cause a crash.

I would suggest that you make the effort, or you will be completely at the mercy of software and stuck in a tortuous CAD, CAM, post cycle to do the simplest of tasks.

Never mind not being able to tell when the code produced is dangerous gibberish.

regards

More
13 Oct 2015 00:18 #63723 by jschulze