1945 Craftsman 101.07403 CNC Conversion

More
14 Oct 2018 23:36 - 15 Oct 2018 03:20 #118808 by SnailPowered
Hello, I am looking to convert my old 1945 Craftsman lathe into a CNC lathe. I am a CNC Machinist professionally and have access to the machines to make the parts I need like bearing supports and a new tool post mount to replace the compound. I am trying to convert this to CNC without permanently altering the lathe itself. The cross slide will have a new bearing support where the current handle is and the servo/stepper will be bolted to the other side where the taper attachment would have been. I believe I can replace the apron with a plate that bolts to the nut on a ball screw. The bearing supports currently bolt on so my plan is to build replacements to accept the ball screw bearings. I plan to have the stepper/servo mounted on the head stock side of the lathe. I have been looking at the closed loop stepper options on Amazon for prices, even though I'm sure there are better places to purchase my components. They come with the driver so I think all I need is a power supply and a way to connect them to my computer.

I was an Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) technician and I have had some training in electronics, including soldering to PCBs. I am sure that I have the ability to assemble the required equipment but I'm not currently sure how to size all of the components and ensure that I'm purchasing what I need and not something similar to what I need. I look forward to sharing my project with you all!

File Attachment:
Last edit: 15 Oct 2018 03:20 by SnailPowered.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Oct 2018 02:26 #118812 by OT-CNC
That could be an interesting project. I would look first at modifying the head stock drive system so you have reliable spindle speed for threading. Some place to mount an encoder and switch out the step pulleys with timing belt/pulleys. You may want a bigger motor and VFD for low end torque.