9x20 CNC conversion architecture questions

More
07 Dec 2022 18:44 #258824 by theoneandonlyoreo
I'm about to buy components for my first linuxCNC system, detailed below.  Do you see any obvious mistakes or unusual choices?  I'm open to any feedback and suggestions. 

Background: I have a 9x20 lathe, the HF version with red paint, which is in need of modernization.  I've scraped the saddle and cross slide, added a tightly fitted gib for the cross slide, and other mechanical modifications.  Mechanically it's good but I need easy threading (english and metric), tapers, easy spindle speed control, DRO, tool library, and occasional manual-ish control.  Also, I use linux daily and have done quite a bit of programming in C, C++, perl, etc.  I have written programs that generate g-code for my plasma cutter, for example.  But I have no experience as the architect of a CNC system.  If you could check my work, I would appreciate it.  

This is the hardware list, for your review:

MESA 7i96s (motion control)
MESA 7i73 (pendant)
mini PC, Intel

DMM DYN4 servo drive for spindle (velocity mode, +/- 10V signal or position ) 
DMM DYN4 servo drive carriage Z (position mode, step/dir)
DMM DYN4 servo drive cross slide X (position mode, step/dir)
manual www.dmm-tech.com/Files/DYN4MS-ZM7-A10A.pdf

DMM 880-DXT AC servo spindle
DMM 640-DXT AC servo carriage Z
DMM 640-DXT AC servo cross slide X
catalog & spec table www.dmm-tech.com/DXT_servomotor.html
DXT Series datasheet www.dmm-tech.com/Files/DXT-SZM1-A1A.pdf

MPG pendant

The only kink I see is that I'd like to be able to switch the spindle between velocity mode and position mode.  DMM has special firmware for this exact thing.  Can linuxCNC handle it?  Maybe have the spindle and C axis configured separately but actually use the same motor with different drive configurations?  Is there a way to prevent both axes being used at the same time?