Mazak QT20 Automatic tool changer

More
16 Mar 2023 17:13 #266848 by dctrytsman
I am almost done retrofitting a Mazak QT20 lathe. This is my first ever retrofit and I am still learning how to do everything .

I am currently stuck on the automatic tool changer . It has an 8 tool drum turret that uses pneumatics to clamp and unclamp and an ac motor that turns the turret in both directions .It also uses 3 proximity sensors on an encoder wheel to detect the 8 different tool positions .

At this stage I have connected all of the original inputs and outputs associated with the ATC.

They are as follows:

Inputs :
1.tool position 1
2.tool position 2
3.tool position 3
4.turret clamped position
​​​​​5.turret unclamped position
6.Index sensor
7.turret pressure down sensor

Outputs :
1.Turret unclamp 1
2.Turret unclamp 2
3.Turret turn clockwise
4.Turret turn anti-clockwise

I have made 8 Classicladder outputs that work with the tool position sensors as inputs and managed to get all 8 tool position signals to work .I have manually tested each input and output with Hal component and everything works individually. I am not sure what to do next .How do I get the tools to change automatically using M06 commands ?

I don't have much knowledge or experience with Hal or Classicladder .Can someone please assist .

I attached images of the ATC mechanism.

The subscripts are as follows:
1-Tool clamp and unclamp position sensors.
2-Tool position sensors 1-3
3-Index sensor
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Mar 2023 02:48 #266879 by andypugh
You might not need Classic Ladder.
The "Carousel" HAL component is designed to control this sort of system. It really does need me to write better documentation for it, but it can read the 3 sensors, convert those into a tool position, and work out which direction to rotate to get the next desired tool.

linuxcnc.org/docs/stable/html/man/man9/carousel.9.html