Analogue inputs on Motenc boards

More
08 Feb 2010 13:34 #1811 by bezelchuck
Please excuse my ignorance, I'm new to EMC at present and its a steep learning curve!!!

I'm just trying to choose a motion control board for my Hurco vmc retrofit. It'll be a five axis machine and I'm choosing between 2x Mesa 5i20's, a Mesa 5i22, 2x Motenc lites or a Motenc 100.

My question is that I see some versions of Motencs boards have some 16bit analogue inputs. Can I configure these to take potentiometers for feed and speed overide? I'd prefer pots to encoders for this as I'm used to heidenhain controls and like to have a physical stop at 0 feed and not have to glance up at the control to see where the feed rate's set at.

Any thoughts? Any other ways to achieve the same thing?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

Phil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2010 00:07 #1829 by BigJohnT
Phil,

I don't know anything about the Montec boards but with the Mesa boards the 5i20 is all you need for EMC. Depending on your I/O requirements you can have a 7i33 for 4 servo drives with encoder feedback and two 7i37's with 8 out and 16 in for each 5i20 board. I'm setting up a Hardinge lathe with that setup atm. My feed override is a bcd rotary switch with a positive stop at 0 and at 120. The output is basically 0 through 12 so it only requires 4 inputs with a weigh of 1, 2, 4 and 8 to work with weighted_sum to output the 0 - 120 to the proper HAL pin.

The learning gets easier the more you know...

John

More
09 Feb 2010 13:50 #1838 by bezelchuck
BigJohnT wrote:

Phil,