Cheap reliable boards in the UK?

• Smecky
  • Smecky's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
24 Apr 2012 18:10 #19502 by Smecky
Cheap reliable boards in the UK? was created by Smecky
Hello LinuxCNCers, firstly allow me to apologise for my ineptitude concerning CNC, I'm only beginning my journey with it.

I'm looking to buy a number of boards which I can use to control a variety of NC hardware, chief among which are stepper motors. Does anyone know of a particular make or UK-based retailer that provides boards that are low performance/cost but reliable? I have been looking around on ebay, but I confess, I don't know what parameters define a good, solid board.

Thanks in advance answerers!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Apr 2012 21:38 #19509 by BigJohnT
Usually cheap and reliable don't fit in the same sentence... by boards do you mean stepper drivers? For low performance you can drive most stepper drivers from the parallel port. There are some folks here from your neck of the woods that can advise what has worked for them and is available in the UK.

Andy gave this to me on the IRC.

<andypugh> JT-Shop: www.zappautomation.co.uk

John

• Smecky
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
25 Apr 2012 08:30 #19512 by Smecky
Replied by Smecky on topic Re:Cheap reliable boards in the UK?
Crikey, maybe I'll give up the reliability premium for now. To start with, I was thinking of something more along these:

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CNC-3-Axis-Stepper-Mo...&hash=item4162b628fc

lines. Would these even work?

Plus, what is a breakout board?

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CNC-5-Axis-Breakout-i...&hash=item3cc1c1f510

I presume it doesn't drive stepper motors per se? If not, what other hardware might you need?

Thanks again John.

More
25 Apr 2012 09:23 #19516 by cncbasher
those are cheap and fail regular .. , you dont say what type of NC Hardware your looking to control .. give us some idea and we can advise