Ancient ISA i/o board.

More
16 Sep 2012 03:59 #24292 by jgilmore
I need to write a rt kernel wrapper for the "OUT al,0x300" instruction to set the output pins. Point me at some examples? Any pointers?

I'm quite comfortable in C and x86 assembler. I've been using Linux for about 13 years now. I'm mostly a software guy. I am also an electrician. Not so experienced with heavy machine tools like this monster (4500lbs) but I've been looking forward to it. I'm going to need some help, and I hope to find some of it here.

I picked up an old CNC mill for the right price. It was free :woohoo:! Because the software to run it had been lost - the boot sector, FAT, and root directory of the floppy disk (1.44M 3 1/2" floppy) had become corrupted. It's been parked in a backyard for about six months with minimal protection. Table is rusted but screws and slides seem fine. 5hp mill head, 3 phase 208volt. The company that made it, Colorado Numerical Control, Inc (cute acronym) is out of business. I have the programming manual but not the technical specs, nor detailed information on the board or other hardware.

I'll be getting either a VFD or a phase converter to run the mill head with. As soon as I have the money anyway. For the next few weeks my budget for this project matches the invested amount. Be nice to have the software and control electronics all set up when it gets here.

The electronics consist of box for the servo and motor drivers and relays, and a separate controls box which contains a VGA monitor and a standard PC motherboard with this proprietary IO card in it. And a AMD 386SX with Wietek math coprocessor, 8Megs of memory, and no hard drive at all, but that's not the point of the story.

I think I've got the card figured out. It's entirely discrete logic chips (flip flops and so forth) but the key insights are:
1. It reads the /IOW and /IOR pins, not the memory or DMA or anything pins. I.E. it's strictly in IO port space.