Stepper AND Servo

More
07 Nov 2012 16:10 #26331 by Chibo
Stepper AND Servo was created by Chibo
Hello,

this is my first project with LinuxCNC. I'm a mechanical engineer with some electric knowhow, but I'm not a software expert. So i would be very happy, if you could answere me a few question.

The project is a grinding machine with nummeric control. It has two steppers (Y,Z) and two servos (X,A). The spindle turns on/off by relay, so it does't work with different revolutions. There are some I/O functions (PLC) like cooling water,.... Some relays are driven with 24V and some with 230V (could be replaced).

Detail servo:
- servo motor BBC M19P
- servo tacho BBC F12T
- servo drive ELGE SD/CC
- incremental encoder Heidenhain ROD 630 (sin/cos)

Detail stepper:
- stepper motor Berger-Lahr RDM 51117 (5 pole)
- stepper controller Berger-Lahr NI 3426

So my first problem is: what hardware do I need? I think, the parallel port has not enought options.
Is the MESA 5i20 the right choice or better another modell?
Can I connect the stepper / servo controller direct to the 5i20 or do I need some daughter cards?
In this case: which daughter card or cards is the right one and is supported by LinuxCNC Mesa Configuration Wizard?
There are three 50-pin-connectors on the 5i20 - can I connect every and maybe different daughtercards to every connector I want?

Thankyou very much

Chibo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Nov 2012 20:36 - 07 Nov 2012 20:37 #26335 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Stepper AND Servo
More important than the servo and stepper detail is the drive inputs. Do the servo drives use a velocity +-10v signal and do the servos have encoder feedback? Do the stepper drives take step and direction inputs?

The PLC functions are handled in Classicladder.

The 5i20 firmware determines what daughter card can plug into where. There are several combinations of firmware and a few custom ones I've seen in the past.