electronics for my CNC Router Parts machine

More
24 Apr 2015 02:03 #58052 by vermeer
Hi community,

I have bought a CNC Router Parts kit, am now thinking about the electronics. Because I'm new to the world of CNC, I'd like to order their plug-and-play control box . The latest incarnation of this control box comes with an ethernet smoothstepper, which does not work with LinuxCNC. CNC Router Parts allows me to order the control box without smoothstepper. But then how do I connect my computer to the control box? In the control box are two break-out boards. So I think I have two options.
  1. A direct connection through two parallel ports in the computer, LinuxCNC in software stepping mode.
  2. Connect through a card, e.g. the mesa 5i25, LinuxCNC in hardware stepping mode.
I think I prefer hardware stepping over software stepping. The mesa 5i25 seems to be a good option. In the 5i25 documentation I read about different firmware's, depending on the break-out boards that it connects to. I don't know what firmware would be appropriate to connect the mesa 5i25 to the break-out boards in the CNC Router Parts control box.

So my question is: is it possible to connect the mesa 5i25 to the break-out boards in the CNC Router Parts control box and if so, what 5i25 firmware to use.

Attached a few documents I received from CNC Router Parts and which they kindly allow me to post on this forum.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Apr 2015 05:25 #58054 by alan_3301
You can use any parallel breakout card, or a 5i25 card. I think you would need a 7i76 also (not sure. don't know if 5i25 works by itself)

I would go for the parallel breakout card. Everyone with mach3 wanted a smoothstepper to take the load off of the pc. with so many configurations, and problems with different computers, this is in cncrouterparts best interest, to limit help requests because of factors beyond their control.